The World is Wonderful! Welcome and thank you for exploring GeoFact of the Day, studying geography, and appreciating the globe's marvels.

Updated Country Post(s) (9/18/2017): KYRGYZSTANView All — Let me know (post a comment on any post) if you want to see a particular post updated with more info!

More than 1600 posts were published on the GeoFact of the Day Blog, as of September 2017

Search for Posts and Maps

Monday, June 6, 2016

Cities and Regions of Trinidad and Tobago

Regions of Trinidad and Tobago — map also includes city corporations and boroughs
Click on the map image above to enlarge it in a pop-up lightbox window.

Located south of Grenada and close to northeastern Venezuela, TRINIDAD and TOBAGO is administratively divided up into ten Regions or Regional Corporations, three City Corporations, and five Boroughs. Trinidad and Tobago's ten regions are Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo (Couva), Diego Martin (Petit Valley), Mayaro-Rio Claro, Penal-Debe (Penal), Princes Town, San Juan-Laventille (Laventille), Sangre Grande, Siparia, Tobago, and Tunapuna-Piarco (Tunapuna). Except for Tobago Region, regions are named after at least one town or city. The national capital — Port of Spain — and San Fernando are city corporations, and the three boroughs are Arima, Chaguanas, and Point Fortin. Until the 1990s, the country's former first-level administrative divisions were counties with multiple wards in each one. More information about this country can be found in my Trinidad and Tobago post (↗)!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews