Search for Posts and Maps

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Dominican Republic Provinces

Map of Dominican Republic province territories
Click on the map image above to enlarge it in a pop-up window.

Sharing the eastern half of Hispaniola island with Haiti to the west, the DOMINICAN REPUBLIC is administratively divided into 31 Provinces (Spanish: Províncias) and a National District (Distrito Nacional*). In alphabetical order, the Dominican Republic's provinces are Azua, Bahoruco (also known as Baoruco), Barahona, Dajabón, Duarte, El Seybo (also known as El Seibo), Elías Piña (also known as La Estrelleta), Espaillat, Hato Mayor, Hermanas Mirabal (formerly known as Salcedo), Independencia, La Altagracia, La Romana, La Vega, María Trinidad Sánchez, Monseñor Nouel, Monte Cristi, Monte Plata, Pedernales, Peravia, Puerto Plata, Samaná, San Cristóbal, San José de Ocoa, San Juan, San Pedro de Macorís, Sánchez Ramírez, Santiago, Santiago Rodríguez, Santo Domingo, and Valverde. Since November 2007, the province of Salcedo (named after Francisco Antonio Salcedo, an 1800s war hero) became renamed to Hermanas Mirabal — in honor of four sisters (Dedé, María Teresa, Minerva, and Patria) who led an inspirational opposition movement against dictator Rafael Trujillo. The capital and most-populated city of Hermanas Mirabal Province is still named Salcedo.

* This is where Santo Domingo, the Dominican Republic's capital, is located.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews