The World is Wonderful! Welcome and thank you for exploring GeoFact of the Day, studying geography, and appreciating the globe's marvels.

Updated Country Post(s) (9/18/2017): KYRGYZSTANView All — Let me know (post a comment on any post) if you want to see a particular post updated with more info!

More than 1600 posts were published on the GeoFact of the Day Blog, as of September 2017

Search for Posts and Maps

Monday, March 14, 2016

UNESCO Heritage Sites in Argentina

Hand imprint paintings at Cueva de las Manos — Cave of Hands

A total of nine sites of interest of special cultural and environmental significance in ARGENTINA are designated on UNESCO's World Heritage List. Four national parks listed as World Heritage Sites showcase Argentina's diverse climates and landscapes: dry desert areas in the extreme northwest and west-central regions, subtropical rainforests in the east and northeast, and mountainous terrain along the western border with Chile. The first Argentinian property to be inscribed on the list (1981), Parque Nacional Los Glaciares (Los Glaciers National Park) of southern and southwestern Argentina boasts breathtaking scenery of the Andes Mountains and multiple glacial lakes, include Lago Anita, Lago Argentino, and Lago Tannhauser. Inscribed three years later, northeastern Argentina's Iguazu National Park features mesmerizing waterfalls and a high biodiversity in a rainforest setting.

Parque Provincial Ischigualasto (Ischigualasto Provincial Park) and Parque Nacional Talampaya — combined into one heritage site called Ischigualasto/Talampaya Natural Parks — extend over 275,300 hectares, 2,753 square kilometers, and 1,063 square miles across the desert regions of northwestern Argentina's La Rioja and San Juan provinces. Argentina's newest inscribed property, the Qhapaq Ñan Andean road system (2014), is an important trade route extending across Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru. These are Argentina's remaining heritage sites: Cueva de las Manos (amazing hand imprint cave paintings, as shown above), the Jesuit Block and Estancias of Córdoba, Jesuit Missions of the Guaraní IndiansPenínsula Valdés, and Quebrada de Humahuaca valley.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews