The World is Wonderful! Welcome and thank you for exploring GeoFact of the Day, studying geography, and appreciating the globe's marvels.

Updated Country Post(s) (9/18/2017): KYRGYZSTANView All — Let me know (post a comment on any post) if you want to see a particular post updated with more info!

More than 1600 posts were published on the GeoFact of the Day Blog, as of September 2017

Search for Posts and Maps

Tuesday, July 6, 2010


Kiribati map depicting major islands, atolls, and archipelagos and also the names of surrounding island territories

Officially known as the Republic of Kiribati in English and Ribaberiki Kiribati in the Gilbertese language, KIRIBATI is a huge region and country in the Pacific Ocean. This country achieved independence from the United Kingdom on Thursday, July 12th, 1979. Kiribati is north of Tuvalu and Tokelau and east of Nauru. The capital is Tarawa, a coral atoll in the Gilbert Islands located in western Kiribati. National government headquarters are located in the community of Bairiki. The official languages of Kiribati are English and Gilbertese. The people of Kiribati use two currencies for monetary transactions: the Kiribati Dollar (KID) and the Australian Dollar (AUD). This post included a blog map since October 23rd, 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews