The World is Wonderful! Welcome and thank you for exploring GeoFact of the Day, studying geography, and appreciating the globe's marvels.

Updated Country Post(s) (9/18/2017): KYRGYZSTANView All — Let me know (post a comment on any post) if you want to see a particular post updated with more info!

More than 1600 posts were published on the GeoFact of the Day Blog, as of September 2017

Search for Posts and Maps

Friday, July 8, 2016

Haiti Department Regions

Haiti departments (provinces) map
Click on the map image above to enlarge it in a pop-up window.

Sharing the western half of Hispaniola island with Dominican Republic to the east, the HAITI is administratively divided into 10 Departments (French: D├ępartements) as well as over 40 Arrondissements. In alphabetical order, Haiti's provinces are L'Artibonite, Centre, Grand'Anse, Nippes, Nord, Nord-Est, Nord-Ouest, Ouest (location of Port-au-Prince, Haiti's capital), Sud, and Sud-Est. Established in 2003 from Grand'Anse department, Nippes is technically translated from French into English as clothing — or duds! On the GeoFact of the Day Blog map above, the country's major islands are labeled near green text. Haiti has an affinity for its wildlife and livestock, enough to name a couple islands after beloved creatures. Haiti's southernmost island is essentially named Cow (Vache), while the northernmost one is named Turtle (Tortue, or Tortuga).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews