The World is Wonderful! Welcome and thank you for exploring GeoFact of the Day, studying geography, and appreciating the globe's marvels.

Updated Country Post(s) (9/18/2017): KYRGYZSTANView All — Let me know (post a comment on any post) if you want to see a particular post updated with more info!

More than 1600 posts were published on the GeoFact of the Day Blog, as of September 2017

Search for Posts and Maps

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Parishes of Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua and Barbuda map of parishes and dependencies
Click on the map image above to enlarge it in a pop-up lightbox window.

Considered to be a best-kept secret in comparison to some other well-visited Caribbean countries in the Caribbean Sea, ANTIGUA and BARBUDA of course features the main islands of Antigua and Barbuda — but also includes much smaller islands close by and relatively far away (Redonda). Administratively, the country is divided into six Parishes and two Dependencies. Despite sharing sovereignty and unity with Antigua since 1981, Barbuda is still administratively known as a dependency and not a parish. The currently uninhabited island of Redonda is another dependency. As the map above shows, Antigua island's six parishes are Saint George, Saint John, Saint Mary, Saint Paul, Saint Peter, and Saint Philip. Not surprisingly, the capital city Saint John's is located in Saint John Parish.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews