The World is Wonderful! Welcome and thank you for exploring GeoFact of the Day, studying geography, and appreciating the globe's marvels.

Updated Country Post(s) (9/18/2017): KYRGYZSTANView All — Let me know (post a comment on any post) if you want to see a particular post updated with more info!

More than 1600 posts were published on the GeoFact of the Day Blog, as of September 2017

Search for Posts and Maps

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Cities of Ecuador

Major cities in ECUADOR — a South American country recently devastated by large-magnitude earthquakes and subsequent aftershocks — include Ambato, Babahoyo, Chone, Cuenca, Daule, Eloy Alfaro, Esmeraldas, Guayaquil, Ibarra, Latacunga, Loja, Machala, Manta, Milagro, Portoviejo, Quito (capital), Riobamba, Santa Rosa, Santo Domingo de los Colorados, and Tulcán. Ecuador's major cities are almost evenly distributed...except in the eastern portions of Ecuador, where the Amazon Rainforest serves as the homeland of indigenous groups living in relatively low-populated settlements. Esmeraldas, Ibarra, Quito, Santo Domingo de los Colorados, and Tulcán are northern cities. Central Ecuadorian cities include Ambato, Latacunga, and Riobamba. Cuenca, Loja, Machala, and Santa Rosa are in southern Ecuador, while Guayaquil is located in the southwest.

Regarding population size, Guayaquil is the largest, with over 2 million residents living there — surpassing Quito, which provides habitat for about 1,400,000 residents. Ecuador's next most-populated cities are Cuenca (277,000), Machala (205,000), Santo Domingo de los Colorados (200,000), Manta (183,000), and Eloy Alfaro (175,000).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews