Search for Posts & Maps

Wednesday, January 6, 2010


New map of Brunei

Officially known as the Nation of Brunei, the Abode of Peace in English and Negara Brunei Darussalam in Malay, BRUNEI is a relatively tiny country located on the island of Borneo. Brunei borders one country, Malaysia, on its western, southern, and eastern borders. The predominantly Muslim country also borders the South China Sea along its northern coast. Over 426,000 residents live in Brunei. Bruneians speak Malay (Brunei dialect) as the official language in addition to Belait, Bisaya, Chinese, English, Iban, Tutong, and others. The capital of Brunei is Bandar Seri Begawan, which has a population greater than 64,000. Other communities in Brunei include Badas, Bangar, Kuala Belait, Labi, Muara, Seria, and Tutong. The currency is the Brunei Dollar, and its ISO 4217 currency code is BND. Sultan, leader, and billionaire Hassanal Bolkiah is known to be one of the world's richest individuals and even has shiny gold-plated Mercedes-Benz and Rolls-Royce vehicles. Brunei's sparsely-populated southern tier is dominated by rainforests and natural preserves, such as Ulu Temburong National Park. To access a detailed post about Brunei, visit this post about Brunei's rivers.

This post was updated with a new map on August 17th, 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do you have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know with a comment!
*Please note that comments WILL be MODERATED; therefore, spam comments (including offers and links unrelated to the post topic) WILL be REMOVED.*
I greatly appreciate your input... thank you so much!

  • Map Link in new tab or window
  • Thank you so much for accessing your trusted source for reliable geographic info since 2008 — today and always!
  • Total Pageviews